I’d been thinking about switching to WordPress for some time: the Blogger site became unwieldy. This song, for some reason, convinced me to go forward:

Europe endless
Life is timeless
Europe endless
Parks, hotels and palaces
Europe endless
Promenades and avenues
Europe endless
Real life and postcard views
Europe endless
Elegance and decadence
Europe endless

It’s the opening of Kraftwerk’s Trans-Europe Express, the early techno masterpiece that offers cool synth beeps as the lyrics reflect on the borderlessness of the modern world. Listening to it as I drove to no place that I hadn’t been hundreds of times before, I was compelled not just with the image of the single Europe (which did not exist at the time with the Iron Curtain), but the fluidness of crossing borders despite polemics.

The header is another story. It’s a closeup of the globe by Frédéric Auguste Bartholdi, outside of the Musée Bartholdi in Colmar, France. It seemed appropriate to use the Alsatian sculptor of America’s most famous monument.  [Note: it seems that WordPress has recropped my image header, and I’ll have to wait until later today to upload it again.]

